Categories
Blog Tour

Blog Tour: The Drowned City by K.J. Maitland

Delighted to be on the blog tour today for The Drowned City by K.J. Maitland! Thanks so much to the publishers for my copy, and to Random Things for having me on the tour. Here is my review…

About the book:

The first in an exciting new series from an expert writer at the height of her powers. Gunpowder and treason changed England forever. But the tides are turning and revenge runs deep…A year to the day that men were executed for conspiring to blow up Parliament, a towering wave devastates the Bristol Channel. Some proclaim God’s vengeance. Others seek to take advantage. In London, Daniel Pursglove lies in prison waiting to die. But Charles FitzAlan, close adviser to King James I, has a job in mind that will free a man of Daniel’s skill from the horrors of Newgate. If he succeeds. For Bristol is a hotbed of Catholic spies, and where better for the lone conspirator who evaded arrest, one Spero Pettingar, to gather allies than in the chaos of a drowned city? Daniel journeys there to investigate FitzAlan’s lead, but soon finds himself at the heart of a dark Jesuit conspiracy – and in pursuit of a killer. A compelling historical thriller for fans of C.J. Sansom, Andrew Taylor, Antonia Hodgson and Laura Shepherd Robinson.

About the author:

Karen Maitland is an historical novelist, lecturer and teacher of Creative Writing, with over twenty books to her name. She grew up in Malta, which inspired her passion for history, and travelled and worked all over the world before settling in the United Kingdom. She has a doctorate in psycholinguistics, and now lives on the edge of Dartmoor in Devon.

My review:

The Drowned City was equally as compelling as it was fascinating – I learned so much about a period of history that I never knew much about. The way Maitland writes is so gripping, and this book was such a page-turner from the beginning to the very end. I was utterly captivated by the vividly described setting and the rich variety of characters – I became heavily invested in this story very quickly. The Drowned City is perfect for fans of historical fiction, or even those who just enjoy a compelling mystery/thriller with an exciting setting – it’s an absolutely brilliant read, and I can’t recommend it enough! I can’t wait for the next instalment in the series.

The Drowned City is OUT NOW!

3 replies on “Blog Tour: The Drowned City by K.J. Maitland”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s